Minimalist Worksheet

“What’s holding you back from your ideal life?”

Minimalism is about more than purging stuff. It’s an ideal. It’s about improving life, living intentionally, and for me, about reducing my ecological footprint. It’s trendy now (at least I think it is) but that doesn’t mean it will be in a year, a month, or heck – a week. But the idea of living your ideal life is ages old and applies to anyone who ever dreamed of something different.

journey

The following questions came from the 4th hint on Simply+Fiercely’s blog post, “Getting Started with Minimalism: 5 Things Not to Do.” The answers are mine because sharing sometimes helps people learn about themselves.

Q: Why did you own so much stuff in the first place?

A: Well, hmm, I guess because I felt like I needed/wanted it at the time, or because it belonged to a family member who wanted to know if I wanted the item – and I didn’t want to appear ungrateful – or see the thing go to waste.

Q: Why do you want to be a minimalist?

A: I want to be a minimalist because the more space I have the happier I am. I like a clean space and cleanliness (or some semblance thereof) is easier to achieve with less stuff.

Q: What do you want your life to look like?

A: Clean! Without waste! Original, calm, organized, simple, maybe even a little heretical (ha!).

Q: What’s holding you back from your ideal life?

A: Question number four is difficult for me to answer. I suppose I feel guilty for other people’s wastefulness and so try to eliminate all waste, thereby “marrying” all things that cross my path – even if I no longer need or want them. Being a people pleaser holds me back too… I’m learning to say “no,” but often I feel like it’s easier to say “yes” and put my desires aside. So, guilt about things I have no control over, and a lack of assertiveness are holding me back from my ideal life.

Interesting…

Answering these questions has given me some perspective on why I’m into this minimalist thing – and how I can help myself achieve my ideal life.

*     *     *

Why are you interested in minimalism?

What do you hope to get out of the minimalist lifestyle?

*     *     *

Save

Leave a Reply

