Bullet Journal and Simple Heresy on YouTube!

Do you have a thousand and one things to keep track of?
Me too. So I’ve been watching some Bullet Journalers on Instagram and YouTube: Ryder Carroll, Boho Berry, palestblue, and Jenn Rogers (who I just love), plus more. The bullet journal (bujo) system is a streamlined and easy way to keep track of everything – even when your phone battery dies. The extra-special good news is that you can make your bujo any way you like. That flexibility allows me to put the minimalist mindset into my planner by switching to a bullet journaling style. – Or at least that’s the plan.

A Sordid History
I started using a planner in seventh grade because my mom made me. (I never thought I would say that phrase again!) It was a, 8.5 x 11 lined planner with a week per spread. I didn’t use it. It was a place to doodle when I wasn’t paying attention in class. In 10th grade I picked up a 6×8.5 journal and kept it as a diary, then I got into art journaling and collage. Then in college actually used a planner – as intended – to balance work, school, and social life, but after getting married I slipped back into diary mode. Then I started homescholing and I got a teacher’s planner by Mary Engelbreit that I just loved!

Fast forward to today… I have a notebook, a diary, a writers book, a homeschooling planner, a regular datebook, and apps that remind me of everything. That’s too much stuff. This collection does not jive with the minimalist mindset.

Enter The Bullet Journal
I think this might be a life saver. Trying to go minimalist is sometimes difficult – but hey, it’s a process.  You can see the pens I’m using and the inside of my very first bujo in the video below. Oh, and you get to hear the sound of my voice for the very first time ever. How exciting!

Over time I hope to simplify the spreads, but now the whole bujo experience is new and exciting so the entries are still over-the-top!

“Will she stick to the simple mantra, or will she commit heresy?”
Who knows!
Stick around and together we’ll see what happens!

Leave a Reply

